Actioned Letters to Canberra

To date, 11 monthly letters have been written and mailed to all 226 politicians in Canberra

19 OCTOBER 2020



ADAC – Climate Action in Australia

P.O. Box 1906, Geelong, 3220, Victoria

Website: 19th Oct 2020

Senator the Hon E. Abetz

GPO Box 1675

Hobart Tas 7001

Dear Senator the Hon E. Abetz


This is the 11th monthly letter mailed to 226 parliamentarians, in Canberra seeking your support to put climate change action above party politics. During this time, Australia is no closer to a real zero emissions target. The cost of inaction on climate grows daily, becoming far greater than the cost of action on climate change.

Australia has a golden opportunity. We are encouraged by a number of plans for Australia’s future energy requirements. We note that both the government’s policy and the opposition’s draft platform acknowledge the importance of reducing carbon emissions and embracing new clean technologies. We are also excited by the developments in Tasmania and in Western Australia towards the production of green hydrogen as a fuel. We firmly believe our nation can be a world leader in the area of renewable energy, in the jobs it creates and in a renewed focus on local manufacturing.

Political Bipartisanship. The good signs in Australia have been the bipartisan way state and federal governments have co-operated on the Covid-19 crisis, and the obvious willingness, among electors, to applaud good leadership whether or not it reflects their normal party allegiances.

Zali Stegall’s private members bill is to be tabled in the House of Representatives on the 9th November 2020 and promises the kind of action that the country needs. It avoids a win or lose scenario between parties because it will serve well whichever party, or combination of parties, make up the government of the day. This bill will allow for thorough debate, consideration and discussion on all the possibilities of reducing emissions towards 2030 and beyond.

To ignore the opportunities this bill provides would be absurd.

Australia needs its politicians to STEP UP and make a CONSCIENCE VOTE.

Will you support the tabling of Zali Steggall’s Bill?

Robert Patterson & Mike Middleton

From all at ADAC Robert Patterson 0414328230

27 September 2020

Read Here

31  August Letter

Read Here

28 July Letter

Read Here

28 June 2020

Read Here

28 May 2020

Read Here

30 April 2020

Read Here

15 March 2020

Read Here

28 Febuary 2020

Read Here

31 January 2020

Read Here

19 December 2019

Read Here

Letters Received from Parliamentarians

NamePolitical PartySenate/RepsDate Received
Rebekha SharkieCentre Alliancereps30/12/19
James StephensLiberalreps02/01/20
Mathias CormannLiberalsenate06/01/20
Perin DaveyLiberalsenate07/01/20
Bridget McKenzieNationalssenate13/01/20
Kimberley KitchingLaborsenate22/01/20
Christian PorterLiberalreps23/01/20
Hollie HughesLiberalsenate28/01/20
Libby CokerLaborreps31/01/20
Tony SheldonLaborsenate04/02/20
Libby CokerLaborreps05/02/20
Rachel SiewertGreenssenate07/02/20
Michelle LandryLiberalreps11/02/20
Terri ButlerLaborreps13/02/20
Perin DaveyLiberalsenate24/02/20
Hollie HughesLiberalsenate24/02/20
Andrew LeighLaborreps25/02/20
Sterling GriffCentre Alliancesenate05/03/20
Tony SheldonLaborsenate11/03/20
Sarah Hanson-YoungGreenssenate11/03/20
Andrew WilkieIndependentsenate12/03/20
Scott MorrisonLiberalreps13/03/20
Sarah HendersonLiberalsenate13/03/20
Richard MarlesLaborreps16/03/20
Kristina KeneallyLaborsenate17/03/20
Rachel SiewertGreenssenate17/03/20
Scott MorrisonLiberalreps19/03/20
Jess WalshLaborsenate19/03/20
Adam BrandtGreensreps19/03/20
Terri ButlerLaborreps20/03/20
Libby CokerLaborreps20/03/20
Kimberley KitchingLaborsenate24/03/20
Amanda StokerLiberalsenate09/04/20
Michelle LandryLiberalreps13/05/20
Andrew LeighLaborreps22/05/20
Bridget McKenzieNationalssenate02/06/20
David SmithLaborreps04/06/20
Angus TaylorLiberalreps06/06/20
Michelle LandryLiberalreps10/06/20
Steve GeorganasLaborreps10/06/20
Libby CokerLaborreps29/06/20
Mehreen FaruqiGreenssenate29/06/20
Rachel SiewartGreenssenate30/06/20
Matt ThistlethwaiteLaborreps02/07/20
Tim AyresLaborsenaten/a
Janet RiceGreenssenaten/a
Andrew WilkieIndependantsenaten/a
Tim AyresLaborsenaten/a
Mark ButlerLaborreps16/07/20